Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, American movie (2016)

With Marvel’s big lead in the superhero movie war, it seems like DC has a nearly impossible task to catch up. Most of the attempts that DC have brought out so far have been met with resistance throughout the fan community, and have quite frankly not been as great as the Marvel movies. Last year’s Batman v Superman was to have been the movie that would begin the counterattack on Marvel. Putting two iconic superheroes against each other in a fight of epic proportions. Well, that is at least how the movie was marketed. But was the movie really as epic as everyone was led to believe?

image

Batman v Superman luckily does not take a lot of time to reintroduce the backstory of Batman. We see a short flashback scene, and after that we get taken straight to the action that takes us back to the events of the movie Man of Steel. While the city is being almost completely leveled by the fight between Zod and Superman, we have a desperate Bruce Wayne racing through town to get to a few employees of his. Unfortunately he is too late and a lot of people lose their lives or get injured. Looking up, Bruce sees Superman flying away, and you can see the hate flaring up in his eyes. Two years later both Superman and Batman have their own problems. The Man of Steel is trying to get by in a world that is divided, where one part sees him a saviour,and the other part as an alien menace that needs to be taken care of. Meanwhile back in Gotham, Batman can’t let go of his hatred for Superman, and begins to devise a plan to take care of him. He believes to have found one when an alien rock called Kryptonite falls into the hands of the man called Lex Luthor. But what both Superman and Batman don’t realise is that behind the scenes, Lex is pulling the strings. But it maybe too late for them both, as the war between them is about to start…..and the fate of the entire world hangs in the balance.

image

When the casting of Ben Affleck became public knowledge, pretty much everyone cried their outrage. Nobody believed him to be able to play the part of the iconic superhero. But I really have to admit that he did a fine job. Was he as good as Christian Bale? No, but quite honestly those were very tough shoes to fill. But I do think that Affleck really played the part of the Dark Knight very well. Another surprise was Gal Gadot as Wonderwoman. Even though she has a very short role, she plays it great, and leaves a lasting impression. Lastly Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor was at times briljant, but also overacted in a few scenes. Reprising his role as Superman, Henry Cavill is an actor I just don’t like for this part. But that may be just me, as there are also people who think he is one of the best actors that was ever chosen to play this role.

image

The movie itself clearly is an attempt to establish the DC universe and serves as the beginning of the Justice League. In other words the DC version of the Avengers. There are some things in this movie that work well. There are some terrific action sequences, which are a blend of practical and special effects. The acting as mentioned above also is very good. But the movie is called Batman V Superman, and it is on this part that the movie falls short. The “fight of the century” lasts only for a few minutes, and is pretty much over before it even starts. And the way it is finally resolved was a bit hard to take. Not to give away any spoilers, but it is almost like a switch is flipped and everyone became the best of friends.

image

Still I did quite like this movie. It certainly has enough things in it to entertain, and delivers a fun ride throughout it’s two hour plus run. As far as the set up for Justice League goes, I do think it could have done a better job on that department. And for a movie called Batman V Superman, I think it has to be the most misleading title ever. As long as you keep an open mind, and don’t expect too much from this superhero movie, you will enjoy it enough though, to make it worth the watch.

I give Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice a 7 out of 10 score.

28 thoughts on “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, American movie (2016)”

  1. Good review! The resolution of the “fight” is just so anti-climatic. Personally, I didn’t really enjoy the action sequences; Zack Snyder tends to go overboard with the explosions. Nevertheless, the appearance of Wonder Woman alone is worth the watch!

    Like

  2. I might be in the minority for saying I haven’t seen this movie nor do I usually have much interest in marvel or comic turned live action movies lately.

    I’ve seen a few which were impressive like the x men, Barman and Spider-Man series but since then I usually don’t get too excited over them as they seem to be coming out with so many last year or so that it gets overrated and just too much action without a great story to go somewhere and now with the upcoming Justice League which people are excited about but It might be good.

    I admit they have great special effects as always but I prefer a strong script to go with it as I feel live action movies of this style are either hit or miss. It’s the reason I loved the animated Batman, X-men and Spider-Man of the 90’s because the story was really engaging. Having said that I did enjoy Christian Bale as Batman as the script lead somewhere entertaining with Heath Ledger as the joker etc. Nonetheless this was a great review to understand what the movie is about. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Completely agree with what you write. These days most Marvel comic movies are becoming pretty predictable. Even though I still enjoy them, last years dr Strange made me feel like I had seen all that it featured before, and found it to be predictable as well. A big surprise on the other hand was Logan. That movie was something else. It featured a great script, terrific acting and well blended in action sequences. I highly recommend seeing that one, as it truly is a different comic book movie than anything that came before it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Look at them looking all emo in that poster!

    Great review – you capture the pros and cons of this well, I think. I haven’t seen it though 😀 I feel zero interest in watching two superheroes I’ve long since lost interest in fight out their problems and then fall in friendship so yeah, giving this one a pass.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, that first sentence: “look a them looking all emo in that poster! ” Lol 😂😂Well, it is a movie that you can give a pass I guess. It was allright but it also isn’t a masterpiece, allthough I have to admit watching Wonderwoman appear in it, was worth the watch alone 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great job highlighting the pros and cons of the movie. I agree with Madame Vintage above in that I need my superhero movies to have a very solid story to compliment the action and a lot the more recent ones have been hit or miss. I do still plan to give this one a go though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Well as far as storylines go this one is a bit in the middle. It is certainly not the worst storyline, but it could have been better. But it also isn’t a storyline that takes a backstage in favour of the action. So that is what I mean by it being in the middle. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much 😊 Agree, there are definitely worse films out there than this one. I am hoping that Wonderwoman is going to be better. Judging by the trailers I am cautiously optimistic that it will be 😊

      Like

  5. Here I am with my prolific opinions once again. The “Lets resolve our differences and work together” button in the plot was really naff. I didn’t like that at all.

    As for the rest of the film. I always found the premise flawed. 2 vigilantes going at each other with such gusto due to the destructive nature of the other (granted, the manipulation – but still…) always seemed hypocrisy. Easter Egging the Justice League characters. Actually am ok with that, it played into the Lex Luthor plot reasonably well. The prophetic dreams of batman were weak plot devices, sledgehammering the story forward. As for the prize fight – well, they should never really have marketed the film that way (as I recall the title was Superman/Batman Dawn of Justice, possibly changed from Superman vs Batman). I remember watching the equivalent cartoon movie where DC’s finest don’t know one another and consider the other irresponsible etc, and it worked well. Didn’t think the prize fight idea was sensible. I thought Ben Affleck was really good as Batman. I liked Henry Cavill and Gal Gadot as their respective characters too. I liked all the solo Batman stuff early in the film, and then post fight. Less keen on the final conflict with you know who. Not an awful film, but it feels like DC have cut some corners to catch Marvel. (Don’t get me started on Suicide Squad) I’d watch again, and I have reasonable hopes for Justice League

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, well keep those opinions coming, they are always appreciated 😊 Totally agree with everything you wrote, this film could have been better. There were some things that worked, but also a lot of things that did not. Still it was a good effort, and luckily it was not a total waste. I have high hopes for Wonderwoman which looks seriously cool so far judging by the trailers. Justice League I don’t know about yet, but I am cautiously optimistic after having seen the new trailer for it. Thanks for your comment as always 😊

      Like

      1. I have no reservations about Wonder Woman. It will be good to see her finally get an outing on screen that you can take seriously (I do enjoy the old Lynda Carter stuff – but hard to take seriously). I think DC should have done the Batman first, along with Man of Steel and Wonder Woman before Dawn of Justice, Justice League and definitely before Suicide Squad as then we’d have proper villain development. Wonder Woman gets her film. Superman had his film. That is something, at least

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m not a big DC fan and I think that’s why I was able to enjoy it so much. There was nothing that could disappoint me or outrage me. Sure, it felt different from the previous Batman and Superman movies, but that was to be expected.
    Not even in comic books do the characters stay the same throughout. As writers change and new storylines are introduced as well as alternate universes, things do end getting mass alterations. So I don’t understand why people feel so bothered about it.
    Like you, I don’t feel Henry Cavill as Superman but I did think Affleck did a great job, being under the pressure that he was. Gadot was a pleasant surprise and I just wish she’d had more screen time. Her sudden appearance in the middle of the showdown was one of the greatest parts of the entire movie, in my opinion.
    Great review, Michel 🙂

    Like

    1. I completely agree. I have seen movies that got completely destroyed in reviews, and that were very entertaining in my own opinion. And I have also seen it happen the other way around: movies that were supposedly Oscar material, and after watching them, thinking what all the fuss was about. Movies are always personal, what ome person likes, can be hated by another. As for this movie, it really isn’t bad. Sure there are definitely things that could have been handled (way) better, but there were also a lot of things that I did enjoy in it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am currently running behind on reading a few posts. I hope to get around to it somewhere this weekend 😊 But, honestly, I don’t think you have to worry. Seeing how good the quality of this blog is, I know that the quality of that onewill be just as good 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  7. It is interesting how actors & actresses play so well in their roles like you said. I have yet to see this movie but seeing that movie Beauty & the Beast, I just never noticed how good they act! I guess being a reviewer makes us pay attention to details haha I like how you compliment this movie. I will have to look into it. Really love your review! You write so well! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you so very much for these very kind words: they ate definitely appreciated 😊 Yes, acting in a film is very important to me if I am being honest. I havecseen movies that actually would have been less enjoyable if certain actors did not elevate it to a higher level. That is one of the reasons I love seeing movies 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much 😀 I enjoyed the movie a lot as well, although Man of Steel was the better film. Still, there is enough to enjoy, and with a lot of good DC movies (well at least in theory) heading out]r way, I hope the best is yet to come 😊😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

