Kong Skull Island, American movie (2017)

There are some Hollywood creations that have simply become icons in their own way. Never mind having never seen the movie it appeared in, everyone seems to know about it anyway. One of those icons is the legendary ape King Kong. It made it’s first onscreen appearance in the 1933 movie with the same name, and it has since then become the stuff of legend. One of it’s most famous scenes was King Kong being on top of the Empire State building and getting shot at by airplanes. Moviemaking certainly has come a long way since then, and when you look at that scene now it may look dated in terms of special effects. But it definitely still is every bit as powerful as when it was first shown to the public. These days we get a lot of movies that have terrific special effects, but fall short when it comes to showcasing any kind of emotions or story. That does not mean that a movie like that can’t be entertaining though.

image
There was a sale on fresh tentacles, he just could not resist.

Kong Skull Island starts in the year 1944 when two fighter pilots, one American and one Japanese, parachute onto a mysterious island, after having lost both of their planes to each other. While continuing the fight on the ground, they are interrupted when a gigantic and monstrous ape appears. In the year 1973, 29 years later, we meet up with a US government agent called Bill Randa. He is trying to get approval to get an expedition formed to visit the island known as Skull Island. Eventually his superiors give in, and Bill hires skilled tracker James Conrad to help with the undertaking. Accompanied by a group of soldiers led by the tough Lieutenant Colonel Preston Packard and a female photojournalist named Mason Weaver, the expedition takes off for the island. But once they arrive there, they are about to discover that mankind may not be on top of the food chain anymore. If they manage to survive the wrath of the King of Monsters that is…..

image
Where is Thor when you need him?

This movie is a part of the Legendary film company’s attempt to create a new cinematic universe, with this film being the second offering. (The 2014 version of Godzilla was the first) And quite honestly I had a monster, pun intended, of a good time with this film. What it lacked in story it certainly made up for in entertainment value. Yes people, this is a special effects driven movie, I am not even going to deny that fact, but boy was it a lot of fun. The creatures infesting the island the group lands on are gloriously designed and the absolute highlight of the film. Kong of course will get to fight a few of them, and it is these scenes that impress the most. You can’t help but get a big grin on your face when the creatures start bashing each other’s skulls in. It never gets gory at any point, but it provides some solid fight scenes all realised through computer, and the effects are truly convincing to say the least.

image
Smile, you are on Candid Camera.

The cast that was assembled for this film is quite impressive. John Goodman plays the role of Bill Randa, and it is a more serious role that you usually see him play. He is an actor that I always think is pretty underrated, and he did yet another fine job in this movie. Tom Hiddleston who most people probably know from playing the evil yet incredibly fun role of Loki in Thor, plays the character of James Conrad in this movie. His natural charisma makes him instantly likeable and the role of Conrad is certainly one that suits him. And then ofcourse we have Samuel L. Jackson as Lt. Col. Preston Packard. I always like Jackson’s performances, and the best way to describe his character is a new version of Captain Ahab from Moby Dick. He will stop at absolutely nothing to kill Kong, no matter what the cost might be. Even though the human factor in this film was minimal, all actors in this played very well and certainly contributed enough to the movie to make it a worthwhile experience.

image
I love the smell of ape in the morning.

As I said in the beginning, this is a special effects driven movie, and that’s why the story isn’t really worth mentioning. It does get the job done though, and there is enough tension, occasional humor, and excitement that makes this movie a solid piece of entertainment. The after credits scene hints at the next installment for Legendary’s monsterverse, and I do honestly have to say that I am excited for it. There are pretty much no really bad things in this film that I can think off that are worth mentioning. It’s just two hours of mindless monsterbashing fun, and only if you don’t really like these sort of films will you be disappointed by it. So put on some popcorn, crank up the volume of your television and go sit down in your favorite chair to watch the King of Monsters back in action. Hail to the King, baby.

I give Kong Skull Island a 8 out of 10 score.

52 thoughts on “Kong Skull Island, American movie (2017)”

    1. Yep, I have seen Jackson’s Kong, and I would say that was the better movie. Especially when it comes to emotional content and story. But this one certainly had a lot going for it as well, and I wasn’t bored by it for a single second. Just a fun movie for sure 😊

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Excellent to hear. I was snare by Jackson’s version and ended up watching several of the older ones as well.
        Knowing this isn’t as complex as jackson’s will allow me to just sit back and eat the popcorn πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes so was I. I really did not expect to like it this much, but it was just solid popcorn entertainment with some very cool and awesome scenes 😊 Haha, yeah could not think of anything else but Apocalypse Now when I saw that picture 😊

      Like

  1. I’ve been wanting to see this movie and now I know I have to get around to it sooner rather than later because that looks like a lot of fun. Still, it would have been nice if they could have done a bit more with the story.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It really is quite a lot of fun. It’s true, the story isn’t all that great, but the fun factor in this film is large enough to more than compensate for that 😊 I hope you will enjoy the movie as much as I did, but knowing your great taste in movies I’m pretty sure that you will like it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha….well trust me, there are things in this film that will probably leave you more scared than King Kong ever will. I hope you will enjoy it, and thanks for the kind words as always. Appreciate it πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Another great review πŸ™‚ Now I know more what to expect. Looks like it could be very hit or miss though as I pretty much need a good story about 99% of the time. But you never know, hehe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, you will have to watch the movie to find out what it is with those tentacles. But yeah this movie was loads of fun. The story might have been handled better, but otherwise it was just a hell of a great popcorn film that I highly enjoyed 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi 😊 I have seen War for the planet of the apes, and it’s a review that will be coming up on my blog hopefully sometime this week. But I can already let you know that I absolutely loved the movie, so I will be giving it high remarks 😊 Thank you for your comment πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad you finally watch Kong and seemed to enjoy it. I too enjoy the film very much. As I said, I didn’t expect much from the film since I wasn’t super excited about it except the fact there’s Tom Hiddleston in it *lol*. However, I went out from the theatre, feeling very much satisfied. The film has indeed exceeded my expectations.Great review as always!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had pretty much the same thoughts before I started watching the movie (except for the Tom Hiddleston part lol πŸ˜‚). But this movie was a very pleasant surprise and a lot if fun. Thanks as always for the very kind words. They are always appreciated πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Having wathed many monster movies in my life, including old school japanese creature features with Godzilla and Kong, I have to say I ws not the biggest fan of Kong as a concept. I liked the Kong films I saw, discounting the one with Jack Black – I disliked that one – but was never blown away by them. This film changed that. I loved Skull Island (I believe it is basically Monster Island in the new Monster Verse) and I loved Kong, the monsters and even the humans. I also shrieked with glee at the after credit scene with its revelations, including the reason why Monarch is called Monarch. Just one niggle. You appear to have named Kong king of the Monsters. That has always been, and will always be Godzilla. Insert Godzilla roar hear!

    Like

    1. Haha lol πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Perhaps it’s time to play a game of King of Tokyo to settle who is King of the Monsters lol πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      Seriously though, I really enjoyed this one as well. I was a bit skeptical before I saw the movie, but it quickly won me over and I had a blast watching this one. It really was very enjoyable from start to finish. I look forward to the next installment, hopefully it will be as much fun as this one 😊

      Like

      1. I believe the next one is Godzilla: King of the Monsters. I believe that is followed by Godzilla vs Kong. King of Tokyo is fun. King of New York lets you trash buildings and tanks

        Like

  5. Kong: Skull Island met all my expectations… and I had a lot of fun. It was a blast. It’s Apocalypse Kong, with Vietnam soldiers fighting the literal Viet-Kong.The visual effects and cinematography were great, the period detail was nice and I really enjoyed the Apocalypse Now mixed with Jurassic Park vibe. I’m looking forward to watching it again on DVD!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, that is really brilliant: Viet-Kong πŸ˜‚ But younger so right, it was really a movie that went beyond my own expectations as well. Really did not think I would enjoy it this much. It’s always fun that a movie manages to do more than you expect πŸ˜€ I’m definitely going to rewatch it at some point as well 😊

      Like

  6. I wasn’t as high on this movie as a lot of people were, I had fun with the movie and definitely enjoyed it more than Godzilla (2014). I didn’t like the treatment of Brie Larson who I felt was only there to look good in a tank top. Samuel L Jackson’s character was a cliche and was too Sam Jackson, and I felt he didn’t fit in the movie. Loved the Straight Outta Compton reunion thought. Nice review

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊 I guess some of the points you mention are certainly true. I agree with the misuse of Brie Larson. She certainly deserved a better role. All in all though, it was a pretty fun film, with some great action and special effects. And sometimes it’s just nice to have a few films like that lol πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah absolutely. It was a fun film and Kong was awesome. It felt like the opposite to Godzilla where they wanted you to care about the humans more than Godzilla, this was more about King Kong so we don’t care about the humans.

        Like

  7. I’m glad that, despite not having a great story, the CGI more than made up for it, creating a compelling and entertaining movie πŸ™‚
    I’m loving how much the actress playing Mason (I forget her name) looks like Ann from King Kong but also Jane from Tarzan hahaha
    Just something I noticed… I’m not sure why xD
    I’ll have to watch this one. From the stellar performances to the epic creatures stealing the entire show, I think I’ll enjoy it quite a bit.
    Amazing review, as expected from the master himself ^^

    Like

    1. This was one of those films that I really expected very little of, but in the end turned out to be a very entertaining and fun filled movie. Really enjoyed this one, and you are quite right about the remarks for the actress. You have great eyes, I did not even notice that myself. Haha, well I am no master, but thank you for this: it again brought a smile to my face 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

