Prometheus, American/UK movie (2012)

Why are we here? It is a question that has not really been answered throughout human history. No matter what you believe in, I think everybody will agree that there are a lot of things in this world, that can’t and probably never will be explained. But there will be certain points in your life when you will find yourself asking that very same question. Why am I here? One thing is for sure, I am still looking for that answer. Well, before you start to think that I have completely lost it, and my blog is turning into a centre for philosophical debates, let me quickly put your minds at ease. This small introduction served as a stepping stone to my review for Prometheus, the prequel to Aliens. For it is exactly this question, and many others like it, that are featured heavily in this movie.

image
Bowling in the future certainly looks different.

In the year 2089, the archeologists Elizabeth Shaw and Charlie Holloway, make a discovery in Scotland that may very well alter the course of human history. Certain cave paintings give clues to the origins of the human species, and seem to include an invitation for mankind to travel towards a distant moon in the far reaches of the galaxy. The invitation seems to have been made by the creators of the human race, a mysterious species called the Engineers. Soon an expedition is funded to travel towards the distant moon, and find out the origins of humanity. Both Elizabeth and Charlie are joining this expedition and travel in stasis aboard the science vessel Prometheus. After a long journey they arrive at their destination, and together with the rest of the crew of the ship, begin to make preparations to explore the moon. However in the ancient ruins of the planet, lies a terrible secret. One that may very well mean the end of human life as we know it….

image
Now if this doesn’t look cool, I don’t know what does.

Prometheus was a movie that was received with very mixed reviews at the time of it’s release. Fans of the Aliens franchise, expected a film that was very different from the movie that it turned out to be. As such a lot of fans were extremely disappointed by it. I do not count myself as one of them, for I absolutely loved this film. Even though there are enough scenes in the movie that are truly horrific, this movie simply isn’t a horrorfilm in the style of the first Alien movie. Instead it provides a background story for that film, while it also stands completely on it’s own. This is science fiction at it’s best. The way the movie looks is simply amazing, and that alone is a reason why this film is worth the watch.

image
Guess who’s coming to dinner?

Another reason is the acting that was on display for this film, especially by the amazing Michael Fassbender. He plays the role of the cold but highly intelligent android David. The chilling way that he portrays this character is absolutely stunning, and I think it is one of the best roles of his career. The role of Elizabeth Shaw is filled by actress Noomi Rapace, who also does a fine job. She is not Ellen Ripley ofcourse, but a powerful woman nonetheless who tries to make the best of it in a very hostile environment. The rest of the supporting cast, most notably Idris Elba and Charlize Theron, are great as well, even though their roles are relatively minor.

image
You know that you are being watched right?

As far as filling in the blanks for the Alien movies, this movie does not completely succeed in that mission. A lot of answers that one might hope to find here, are left unanswered. As mentioned above this movie is not Alien, but it does not pretend to be so either. It is however a great piece of science fiction storytelling, with some very cool special effects and terrific acting. Those that hope to find the same experience as the original Alien movie, might have to steer clear of this film. If you love science fiction, with a light touch of horror thrown in the mix though, this film is well worth checking out.

I give Prometheus a 9 out of 10 score.

23 thoughts on “Prometheus, American/UK movie (2012)”

  1. I think my biggest issue with Promtetheus was the need to overcomplicate what could have been a fairly simple and engaging plot about the origin of the Xenomorphs. Everything just seems very messy and complex and not enough of it is expained satisfactorily enough.
    Still, it was an enjoyable enough sci-fi and if I ignored my expectations and the connection to Alien then it was actually a reasonable movie.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with you on that. There were a lot of questions that were raised in this movie, that were not answered in a satisfactory way. Maybe Alien:Covenant will answer some of them, which I will find out tomorrow night. That said, as far as sci fi movies go, I quite enjoyed it 😊 Alien:Covenant seems to be getting the same mixed responses so I really wonder what I am going to experience when I see it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I could be horribly wrong (I’ve been known to do that from time to time), but I feel like Prometheus could be one of those films that becomes beloved over time a la Blade Runner or Citizen Kane. It has all the same qualities. Technically brilliant with murky character traits and a lot of unanswered questions. I think a lot of people are turned off to the film because they aren’t spoonfed every answer to each question. Who knows! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think you are completely correct. Prometheus is just a great movie, I have seen it three times now, and I think I enjoy it more every single time I see it. If I can remember it correctly I think that the first time I saw Bladerunner I did not enjoy it at all. Since that first time I have ofcourse changed my opinion on that 😊 Off topic, for some reason I still can’t leave comments on the posts on your blog. Just letting you know in case you are wondering why I am not leaving comments lol 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m going to reset some things here as well, and see if the problem is on my end. I really enjoy reading your posts, as we have a lot of similar tastes, so that is why I really like to respond to them as well. Will tweak some things on my internet connections. The problem is probably on my end. Will get back to you 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  3. We sluiten goed aan op elkaar, Michel. De afgelopen maand de Alien films uit de kast gehaald en gisteren eindelijk Prometheus gekeken. Visueel ziet de film er prachtig uit, hoewel ik The Engineers maar een beetje vreemd blijf vinden. Het eerste gedeelte is erg goed en de spanning tijdens alle ontdekkingen is voelbaar. In het laatste gedeelte slaat Ridley Scott een beetje door. Ik had graag (en met mij vele anderen) meer van de Xenomorph willen zien. De verbinding tussen Prometheus en de Alien-reeks is heel goed gedaan. Vandaag staat ook Alien: Covenant op het programma. Ben benieuwd. Veel plezier vanavond…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Snap ik inderdaad. Had ook zeker leuk geweest, maar dat is het ook, deze film hoewel het zich in hetzelfde universum afspeelt is het geen Alien film. Ik heb zelf echt van de film genoten.Blij dat jij hem ook leuk vind. Nog een kleine anderhalf uur en dan ga ik ook naar de bios. Ben benieuwd 😀 En dank je uiteraard 🙂

      Like

  4. Yeah, no, I don’t want to go to dinner with that thing, Michels.

    Funny coincidence but I was thinking just yesterday that maybe I should watch this film.I’ve been curious about it for a while and it’s been so long since I watched a movie…

    Maybe I’ll go for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That really is a coincidence. No I still don’t have the ability to read minds lol. I just came back from alien Covenant. Am a bit too tired to write a review for it right now, but expect one for it tomorrow 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. A wonderful review on a movie that surely had some mixed reviews. I’m glad you enjoyed it as much as i did. I understand the problematic reasons many perhaps could not relate to such a movie and i personally felt a little irritated by David’s behaviour as the android, nevertheless l agree that it is visually just as stunning as the Alien we grew to love, it just needs some time to latch onto peoples heart a little stronger. I did want a litle more indepth with the black virus they had contained as i felt everything happened so quickly but there were scenes that I found graphically horryfying in an effective way. Great post on the Alien Franchise. Time to go put on my power loader suit. I hear noises in the vent..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, that last sentence really had me laughing 😂😂 I certainly agree with your comments. There were definitely some things that went too fast, and could have been handled better. But for some reason I took most of those things for granted. I loved the movie. I just returned from Covenant, which is an entirely different movie. I am little bit too tired too write a review for it now, but you can expect one tomorrow 😊 Thanks for your kind words as always. No I am going to be grab my Pulse rifle, time to do some cleaning 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Seems I’ll be the last person on the ship to watch it very soon so I’ve had to avoid all the reviews so far..but I hope you enjoyed it. The radar sure has picked up something moving at great speed..I’ll meet you on the other side! ☺

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Lol😂😂 Yeah so that’s what that bleeping was. Well, as for the movie let’s just say thst I enjoyed it a lot, but it was not as good as alien or Prometheus. It was definitely worth a trip to the cinema though 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Yay, I love Prometheus too! Original movies are hard to come by. This one comes as a rare sci-fi gem. Fassbender is absolutely brilliant, and I agree this might just be one of his best roles to date. As for unanswered questions, I kind of liked that they left some room for interpretation. Excellent review, as always! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😀 Yes, the unanswered questions were not enough for me to not like this movie. I thought it was great, and a couple of questions were ofcourse now answered in Covenant. The Alien Mythology is slowly unravelling and I like where it is headed 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Awesome review! I do like science fiction movie. Traveling to the distant moon and exploring the moon sounds cool. That Alien looks horrifying! I don’t think I have seen this series before but it sounds like something I want to see 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Well Prometheus is truly great, and seeing it is a prequel to a very terrifying science fiction horror movie, you can watch this one without missing anything. Still, I highly recommend watching Alien and Aliens as well, as both are absolutely terrific science fiction horror movies, especially Aliens 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. The movie was really engaging and I liked the concept of our origin story but my only problem with it, is that they didn’t explain what killed off the creators. Hopefully they cover it in the second movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not going to give away any spoilers lol, but there are so e answers to that question in Alien Covenant. I saw that one yesterday, and it was pretty cool, though entirely different than Prometheus 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

