The Lost city of Z, American movie (2017)

Throughout history there have been many famous explorers that have paved the way for the civilisation that we know today. Without them we would all still be thinking that the world was flat, and actually not even have discovered new parts of the world. Ofcourse the stories of famous expeditions can make for a very interesting movie, as we have seen in many great films the past few ages. This year, we get a movie that tells the story of yet another famous explorer, but one that maybe not many people have ever heard of.

image
Row, row, row your boat….

The Lost City of Z, is based on the true story and life of British explorer Percival Fawcett. The movie is set in 1906, and we get to meet Fawcett when he is sent out on an expedition to map an unknown region of the border between Bolivia and Brazil. While exploring the Amazon forest he is convinced that he has found signs of a very sophisticated and ancient civilisation. When he returns home, he is actually ridiculed for these bold claims. However Fawcett is determined to prove his findings,  and against better judgment returns to the Amazon. However, there are many things that stand in his way. Not least of which are certain dangers that might end up costing him his life….

image
Really? You had to go and shoot an arrow in my book? 

I really love adventure movies. There is something seriously inspiring to see humans that head out into unknown regions, and discovering new and ancient pieces of history. When I first saw the trailer for this one, I really got excited for it. Sadly though this movie did not live up to my expectations and ended up being a massive disappointment. The role of Fawcett is played by Charlie Hunnam, who most people will know from the fantastic television series Sons of Anarchy. Hunnam does an okay job in his performance, although I do have to say that his fake English accent really started to grate on my nerves during the progress of the film.

image
The new uniforms were not met with a lot of enthusiasm during the annual Sons of Anarchy club meeting. 

This movie runs for over two hours, and really bored me to death. Mostly this movie has a lot of dialogue, which would not be so bad, were it not for the fact that all of it just isn’t very interesting. Another thing this movie kept doing was jump all over the place. At one point we are back in England, only to head back to the Amazon, back to Englan, and even at a later moment in the film we get to experience World War I. The scenes of the expedition itself were pretty much the only things that were worth seeing. We get some beautiful scenery, and a few scarce moments of actual tension. All in all though I have experienced more fun watching the paint dry on a wall.

image
I think I can finally see the end of this film. 

This post has turned into a bit of a rant, and I apologise for that. I always find it a bit of a shame, when I look forward to a film, and it turns out not to be very good. That said, as with any film, there have actually been people that enjoyed this one. There have been some very mixed reviews for this movie, so really don’t take my word for it alone. For me though, this movie ended up being one of the most boring films that I have seen for a while, and as such I really can’t recommend this one.

I give The Lost City of Z a 2 out of 10 score.

11 thoughts on “The Lost city of Z, American movie (2017)”

  1. Great read, I love the brutal honesty. Haha! I have a feeling that your review is more fun than the movie, Michel. 😊 I’ve read some positive reviews, but haven’t felt compelled enough to seek it out. I’ll likely give it a miss, unless it comes on Netflix or TV! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A 2? Damn, this must have really sucked then. That’s a pity too since the premise itself sounds like it’s got potential.How did they go so wrong with what should have been a cool adventure…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep….I think this movie has the honor to be the movie that scored the lowest on my blog, since I started blogging. I really wondered about that as well, but I think life can sometimes be full of mysteries lol 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh dear, that is a pity. Ever since I saw the anime Laputa: Castle in the Sky, and certain episodes of the Mysterious Cities of Gold as a kid I have been fascinated by the idea of hidden cities and civilizations, and that got my interest in this post. I am vicariously disappointed now, since you and I appear to have similar standards for movies. The best thing about your post was about Charlie Hunnam’s “fake” accent. The guy is English…he was very good in Sons of Anarchy, perhaps he struggles to return to a british accent? Another really good post, that probably saved two hours of my life

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, he is, but in this movie he had to put on a what I think they call “British stiff upper lip accent”. So in that regard it was pretty fake lol 😂 I really was disappointed a lot by this one myself. I really was looking forward to this one…Thanks for the kind words: appreciate it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, I’m so sorry to hear it! It really sounded like an awesome movie and, like you, I enjoy adventure movies (especially exploration ones). I was also looking forward to watching Charlie Hunnam kicking butt! What a disappointment…
    I hope you get to watch some brilliant movies soon to make up for this one 😉 Lovely review, as always!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much 😊 Well, that is the fun thing with movies: you never quite know what something will turn into. A trailer can look very good or tempting, but in the end turn out into something that is utter rubbish. Still, a lot more movies coming up, that hopefully will be very entertaining. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

