Steins;Gate:Fuka ryouiki no déjà vu, Japanese (animated) movie (2013)

A few months ago I reviewed the anime series Steins;Gate. (You can find it right here). This series is considered by many to be one of the greatest animes ever created. I myself however was less enthusiastic about it. Even though the characters in the series were great, and I highly enjoyed all of their antics, I found the series itself very slow. The storyline was quite clever, and did really stick in my mind well after I finished it, but for some reason I could not really get into it. What I am going to do is give this series another try later this year, to see if my opinion for it changes. Browsing through Netflix, I came across the Steins;Gate series as well, or so I thought. Actually it was a movie that was made two years later, and chronicles the further adventures of Rintaro Okabe.

image
Hey! I am talking to you, it is not polite to turn your back on me. 

Steins;Gate: fuka ryouiki no déjà vu (which roughly translated means Load Region of Deja Vu), picks up the events after the animeseries. Rintaro believes himself to be safe, seeing as the time machine and the threat of SERN is gone. But is that really true? Lately he has been getting strange flashbacks to the terrible things that have happened to him in the past. As he is the only one that knows these things, the rest of the members of the Future Gadget Laboratory have no real clue what is going on with him. When Kurisu arrives in Japan for a press conference, after having been gone for a year, she ofcourse reunites with her friends. Kurisu is beginning to notice Rintaro’s strange behaviour, but when she is right in the middle of a conversation with him, he disappears before her eyes. Even more disturbing is the fact that nobody seems to remember who Rintaro was. Kurisu will have to find a way to get Rintaro back, but in order to do so, she might have to pay a very high price……

image
Sorry, just have to scratch my ear for a second. 

So a few of you might have already noticed the grade I gave this one below my review. I’m probably going to be hated on, seeing as so many people enjoyed this movie. But I am sorry to say that I was not one of them. Let me start off by saying that I really understood what the goal was that they set out to do with this film. The story for this was heartbreaking and it really shows what someone who really cares for another will go through in order to save that person. So that was really a good thing. But seriously, I thought the series was slow, but this movie took it to a whole new level. It started off okay, with the funny and enjoyable banter between Rintaro and the rest of his labcrew.

image
Trust me, this scene is not what you might think. 

But the last hour of the movie was just too slow for me to appreciate it. As I stated in my review for the series, I really enjoyed the characters, and thought that was the best thing of the series. But in this movie, except for the first half hour, the entire mood was very dark and quite depressing. And that also affected the behaviour of the characters themselves. Yes ofcourse the second part of the series had a very dark atmosphere as well, but this movie went more down the line of being very sad. But this is how I feel about it, and seeing as so many viewers have enjoyed this movie and the show in general, this might just be me. As stated in the beginning, later this year I will give the animeseries a second watch, and see if I might have a change of heart for it. So, probably if you have liked the animeseries, you will enjoy this movie (even though it’s tone is different). But if you are like me, and were not too impressed by the series, you had best avoid this one.

I give Steins;Gate fuka ryouiki no déjà vu a 5 out of 10 score.

 

5 thoughts on “Steins;Gate:Fuka ryouiki no déjà vu, Japanese (animated) movie (2013)”

  1. When you watch this Japanese anime, you are reading the caption right? Is there magic in this movie? I wonder because your review mentioned about a character disappear before her eyes.. slow and depressing movie doesn’t sound good.. haha.. How long is it? Hey, it’s always better to watch it and form your own opinion than take it from others haha.. I guess not all movies are for everyone, just as not all books are for everyone 🙂 I feel the same way about some books where others loved it. Great review Michel!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you again 😀 Yes, I read the caption for the anime. I would not exactly call it magic, but there is a time travelling theme contained in this series (in fact that is pretty much what this series has all been about). Rintaro disappearing before her eyes, has a little bit to do with that aspect. The movie is about one and a half hours long. Yes I always like to form my opinion, but that is just why movies and novels are so much fun, everybody experiences them differently 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Time travelling is cool. I do like that in books too. Yeah, it’s funny how one movie/book and different set of eyes sees it differently.. haha.. Have you ever watch a foreign movie but with English voice over? I can’t think if there’s one right now but I have watched Hong Kong drama series with Vietnamese voice over and I do like that. At least I don’t miss out on the pictures much because I don’t have to chase after the words on the screen haha.. How many languages are your fluent in?

        Like

  2. Had to skip this this because I have yet to watch Steins Gate (sooon, I promise…soon-ish?) but I had no idea there was a movie for it so I’ll keep this in mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Honestly, I did not know that either. I was just browsing through everything that Netflix had to offer, and just clicked on it to see if the entire season was on, when I saw that it was a movie 😊 I hope you wil enjoy it, I still haven’t quite made up my mind for this one. But I guess that is why I am going to rewatch it later this year 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

