Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress, Anime tv series (2016)

Everyone who is a fan of Attack on Titan is probably highly anticipating the release of the second season next year. (I know that I am one of them). Already pushed back once, it only increases the tension and hype for it. So, what usually happens when something is as succesful as Attack on Titan? You get people who want to hitch a ride on the succes train. In the case of Kabeneri of the Iron Fortress, the word train is taken a bit literally.

This Anime series takes place in a post apocalyptic world where a mysterious virus has transformed most of the human population into monsters. These creatures are called Kabane and can best be described as a kind of zombie, only much stronger. They are almost unstoppable, unless you manage to destroy their glowing hearts, that are protected by a layer of iron. What is left of humanity now lives in giant fortress stations, and are in constant fear of attack from the Kabane. To get around to other stations a number of steam powered trains have been created. In the series we follow the crew of one of these trains as they try to survive in this grim world. But then one day someone appears that might change everything….but is he is a saviour, or the one that finally rings the bell for the end of humankind….

This series has been criticized for being a clone of Attack on Titan. To be fair, yes there are definitely a lot of similarities between the two shows. Both series feature flesh eating creatures, a male and female hero, are set in post apocalyptic worlds, and even the soundtracks are pretty much the same. So yeah, I can relate to that. But to dismiss it just because of that, is in my opinion totally unfair. Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress has a lot of good things going for it. The trains for instance, (see the example below) are just simply awesome. At times it reminded me a bit of the terrific movie Snowpiercer starring Chris Evans, that was released in 2013.

image

I also liked a lot of the characters, especially the young female hero Mumei, who although appearing pretty innocent, turns out to be a force of nature. This being a horror show, there is a lot of blood in it, pretty much the same amount as shown in Attack on Titan. Action lovers will definitely have a field day with this show, as nearly every episode has tons of well executed action sequences. As such there is, at times, little room for character development and that is one of the things that you might not like about this show. Honestly though, I can only say that I have enjoyed this series immensely. I loved the setting, action and briljant animation of this series. Sure, it might be a clone of Titan, but it is a very good one. If you want to watch something to help make the wait for season 2 of Attack on Titan a little bit more bearable, try this one out.

I give Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress a 9 out of 10 score.

16 thoughts on “Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress, Anime tv series (2016)”

    1. I don’t know if you have access to the Appstore from Apple (in other words if you have an IPhone or Ipad). But if you do, you might look up the app called Anime Lib 2 (Lib probably is short for Library). It is a utterly fantastic app, and almost too good to be true as you can watch hundreds of Anime shows for free, this one amongst them. Hopefully this tip helps 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No Apple anything alas.
        It’s fine, eventually this will be released somewhere accessible (or on disc), or I’ll find bits of it on YouTube or whatever. It isn’t as though I haven’t got anything to watch.
        This one just looked really interesting during its run and I enjoyed reading how everyone was responding to it as there were some quite mixed opinions.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. The art when on form is just splendid. Problem with Wit Studio – they’ve pretty much backed themselves in to a corner. This isn’t the first or second time they’ve done a series similar to AoT. Owari no seraph is pretty much the same. Post apocalyptic world, walled off society, angsty lead. Two boys who are besties and a girl. I love the OP & ED.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Okay….another show I have to watch than lol 😂😂 I can’t help it, but I just really like Anime set in post apocalyptic worlds. I have not yet heard about that show, so I will definitely look it up. I agree though, this seriously had a similar feel to Attack on Titan, but I liked it so much that it did not really bother me at all 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know we’ve discussed this before but I found Ikoma to be a better protagonist to Eren. Sure they were both angry at the situation but I found ikoma to be much smarter. He was able to engineer that gun after all and helped improve weaponry. Eren is a bit whiny and too quick to act sometimes and if he didn’t inherit his titan powers where would that leave him. Armin is a tactician ,Mikasa is superhuman. Sure he has the spirit but he’s a mediocre soldier. I still need to finish this series lol so I guess I’m a bit biased for basing my like for ikoma on 6 episodes only. Not sure if you read manga but I’ve been keeping up with AoT and I still am unsure about Eren. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree with you. I did not really like Eren all that much either. To be fair, he does seem to be younger than Ikoma, so maybe that is why he has more to whine about lol. Mikasa on the other hand is a pretty cool character. As for this show, it is just seriously cool. I’m not going to spoil anything, but you are in for a couple of very cool episodes 😀 As for Manga, I am (slowly) starting to read a few Manga. AoT is not yet on my list, but maybe I will catch up with that sometime in the future 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Criticized for being a clone of Attack on Titans becausse oof the same animation studio and the staff who worked on it. yes I agree and I heard rumors that people hated it but it’s okay for me. I might good back to the series

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree that there are strong parallels, but that’s hardly uncommon among storytelling. In the wake of Lord of the Rings numerous epic quest stories were published to satisfy the new demand for them.
    What really struck me as unique about this series is that it wasn’t a turtle setting.
    The human characters don’t find a single location and bunker down with fortifications. Instead they travel from place to place via trains, which grant the opportunity to explore new settings, and run into gradual trouble if something breaks down or they run out of fuel.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

