Another, a horror/mystery novel by Yukito Ayatsuji (2009)

In the past decades there have been a lot of tv shows and movies based on books. Some of these adaptations have been, to put it mildly, not really living up to expectations. The big problem that usually occurs when adapting a novel to the big or small screen, is that there are deviations from the original story. Characters behaving differently, certain plotlines being omitted, the list can go on and on. Still, that being said, there are also examples of movies/tv shows that have truly done justice to the original, and on rare occasions even surpass the novel. A few weeks ago I have seen an Anime series that totally blew my mind. It was called Another (you can find my review for it here ), and it has been one of the best things that I have seen all year. If you haven’t already, you can check it out on Crunchyroll (which is kind of the Netflix for Anime) for free (if you don’t mind the occasional commercial). Even if you don’t like Anime, I can guarantee that this show might change your opinion. What usually happens when I really like something , is that I become pretty much obsessed with finding out as much as I can about it. And as such I learned that the Animeseries was based on the novel of the same name. Having just concluded it, here are my thoughts on this briljant book.

It is the year 1998, when a young transfer student from Tokyo named Koichi Sakakibara enters class 3 of the Yomiyama North Middle School. From the start Koichi feels a sense of unease around him. The students all seem to act as if they have just been awakened from a nightmare. And it is not only the students, but also the teachers who truly don’t behave like they normally should. And why is there a student in class, Mei Misaki, who everyone treats as if she isn’t there? It is not long when the first people start dying in truly horrific ways, that Koichi is beginning to realise that there is a terrible curse on class 3. A curse that may have it’s origins in an event that happened 26 years ago, at the same school, and also in class 3. Koichi will come face to face with a mystery, that might very well cost him his life…..

If you have seen the Anime, then this novel really does not bring anything new to the table. Everything that happens in this novel, except for one or two minor things is also in the Anime series. In fact the Anime has expanded upon the story in ways that have even improved it. Something that I think is very unique. The novel however is every bit as powerful as the series. It is only because I had already seen the Anime and pretty much knew what would happen, I got a little bit less enjoyment out of it, than I thought I would. So which is better? The Anime or the novel? It really is a tough question to answer. But I do think the Anime wins by a slight margin. Especially the ending is handled in a more spectacular way in the series. If you like mystery/horror novels, or Stephen King, than this novel is well worth checking out.

I give Another (the novel) a 8 out 10 score. If you first read the novel, instead of seeing the Anime you may add a point to the score I have given above.

4 thoughts on “Another, a horror/mystery novel by Yukito Ayatsuji (2009)”

  1. I barely understood what was going on in the series when I first watched it so I was thinking of reading the novel version. But since you mentioned that there aren’t so many differences, then I’ll probably just rewatch the anime again and focus more. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

