Eden of the East, Anime tv series (2009)

If you look at the world we live in today, there are definitely some things I would like to change. Don’t worry, I am not going to change this blog into some kind of political statement. But let’s be honest, the world we live in today has it’s good things, but also things that should absolutely be different. What if you somehow had the power to change things? What would you change, and if you changed things, would it really be better? Intriguing question are they not? The Anime series Eden of the East, takes this interesting premise for a spin, and it has resulted into one of the most unique Animeseries I have seen to date.

Saki Morimi, a young Japanese woman, has travelled to the United States for her graduation trip. When she is standing in front of the White House, the place she thinks of as the centre of the world’s power, she is about to get into some serious trouble. When she is trying to throwย an object into the fountain in front of the White House, she catches the attention of the police. Just as she is about to get arrested, a young man intervenes. But this is no ordinary man. For one thing he is completely naked, except for holding a gun and a mobile phone in his hand. The man introduces himself as Akira Takizawa and claims he has lost all of his memories. Meanwhile, back in Japan, 11 missiles strike the country. Was this a terrorist act? And more importantly, how does this event connect to Takizawa? Young Saki will soon find her world turned completely upside down, as she is trust in the middle of a conspiracy that will have dire consequences for the future…

I don’t think there is another Animeseries out there, that I can compare with this one.ย At least not one that I have currently seen. The storyline of this series is highly unusual, combining action, suspense, mystery, conspiracy and humor into a refreshing cocktail. Right from the start I was sucked into this show, and I really had no clue as to where this series was heading. By the end of the 11th episode, a lot of questions were answered, but a lot of them remained as well. Luckily this series was followed by two movies, in which I hope the rest of the answers can be found. The music of the show was provided by the master Kenji Kawai, and he always manages to elevate a show to higher standards by his music alone. Not that this series needed it. Special mention must be made of the opening tune done by Oasis. I absolutely loved this song, and I have included it down below for your viewing (and especially listening) pleasure:

This Anime series is without a doubt the most original series I have seen so far. I highly recommend it, especially if you like Animeseries that are different from the usual ones.

I give Eden of the East a 9 out of 10 score.

10 thoughts on “Eden of the East, Anime tv series (2009)”

  1. Glad you enjoyed this series as it is one my favourites because it just feels a bit different from the norm. I’ve got the movies (came with the series) but haven’t yet watched them. They are on my list for my next break from work to watch.
    Looking forward to your thougths on the movies.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We are definitely of a like mind, you and I. I can tell I’m going to enjoy reading your site.

    You also review movies, which is awesome. I love movies, but I don’t get to watch them as much as I’d like. Books reviews as well. Very interesting, says the writer.

    Awesome site. Great reviews. I got some catching up to do here. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for the kind words ๐Ÿ˜€ Yes looking around on your site earlier this morning I noticed a lot of cool things as well. I also have some catching up to do, but will defintely reserve some time for that this week ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

