Orange, Anime tv series (2016)

Regrets. I don’t think there is a single person on this planet, who hasn’t had some form of regret in their lives. Some kind of decision you made, that you wished you had handled differently. It can be something as simple as not buying a certain item because you found it too expensive. But it can also be something lifechanging, as for instance why did you not ask that girl out that you liked so much? When you come to reach a certain age, you sometimes think back on things like the latter. I know I myself most certainly do that. You wonder what would have happened if you did ask her out, would you have had a different life? What if there was some way you could travel back in time, and do it all over again? Would you make a different decision? What would happen to your life if you did?

In Orange we follow the young highschool girl Naho Takamiya, who one day receives a letter sent from herself ten years into the future. In the letter there are details about how to prevent the “biggest regret” of her life. Everything in this letter deals with a young transfer student from Tokyo, a boy named Kakeru Naruse. Ten years into the future Kakeru apparently is not in her life anymore. The letter deals with everything that will lead up to the point where Kakeru eventually disappears. Arriving at school, and meeting up with Naruse for the first time, she is beginning to slowly develop feelings for him. When things from the letter are starting to come true, Naho realises that the letter is for real. Together with a group of close friends, she is going to have to try and prevent the future from becoming reality. But with time running out, and not certain if her changing things will make it all better, the question soon becomes if the future can really be changed.

Orange has been receiving some mixed reviews. I can understand how this Anime is not for everyone. For starters it is pretty slow. This is not an action show that features big robots smashing the life out of each other. It also deals with certain pretty heavy themes such as suicide. And a few times it felt as if the animation was a bit rushed, as certain characters had some blank features. So what did I think of it? I’m sorry to say that I absolutely loved this 13 episode Anime series. The story for me was very powerful, and it gripped me right from the very first episode. It dealt with some things that I somehow have felt happening to me personally as well. As such I might have a bit of a stronger attachment to this Anime than other people might have. But other than that I liked the animation style as well. It reminded me of a very beautiful Anime movie called Colorful. The series is brought to a satisfying conclusion, and I think I will find myself drifting back to the story in my mind quite a few more times. It also teaches us that one of the most important things to cherish in your life is having good friends. Well, whether or not you will like it yourself, just try and watch the first episode and decide for yourself. Otherwise you might just regret it.

I give Orange a 9 out of 10 score.

3 thoughts on “Orange, Anime tv series (2016)”

  1. Seen the entire series from the start, it really gives off that similar atmosphere like Ao Haru Ride. The story was typically common and sad but Naru is quite annoying but I guess that’s just the way she is. On top of everything, I think Suwa is srsly the knight in a shining armor in this anime. P.S. opening and ending theme songs are really melancholic but amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Could not agree with you more. This anime was not liked by everyone, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. True, Naru could be annoying at times, but that was also part of her charm, and what made the story work. As for Suwa, yes it takes a lot to love someone,and let her be with someone else just in order to let her be happy. That is a true sacrifice 😊 Thank you for your comment 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

